Gone Fishin’… for words

If you have happened to wonder why I’ve been missing in action, I apologize for leaving no explanation.  November is “National Novel Writing Month,” and for the 3rd year, I am trying to sprint toward the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by the end of the month!  That’s about a 160-page novel in one short month– and there’s no editing or polishing time built in there (that comes later)!  The point is to get people who’ve always wanted to write, to let go of their inhibitions and inner editor, and just crank out about 1667 words per day– some days it’s easy, some days…

So that’s where I’ve been.  And that’s where I’ll be.  Both of the last 2 years I’ve fallen short, but I’ve had big trips overseas at the end of the month to use as cop-outs.  This year I’m just– here– and if I don’t make it, I will have no excuse.  Of course, 50,000 words will never be enough to finish my novel– you all know I’m too long-winded for that.  But it’ll be a damn sight closer than I was on October 31!

Anyway, I’ve been procrastinating long enough– I’m a day-and-a-half behind (hey, there’s something you won’t see in my novel:  hyphenated words… left without hyphens, that’s 4 words, not 1!).  Happy November, my java friends.  I’ll see you in about 23,000 more words.

Leave a Reply

