Digging in…

This is my dedicated blogging time– during Will’s guitar lesson.  I’ve already wasted 11 minutes of it filling out forms, so I will have to think and type fast tonight.  Good thing I’m having a grande cappucino to help me along!

Today was the last day of preschool for Claire.  I mean– ever.  Can you believe she’s off to kindergarten??  I wasn’t thinking much of it, I guess, until my friends kept expressing their astonishment that little baby Claire has grown up so much.  When I think of it that way, I have to admit my astonishment is mostly that I have friends and acquaintances still in my daily life who visited us in the hospital when Claire was a newborn.  We’ve never stayed put long enough to have that happen– you know, friends in the same town with a long history together?

Anyway, it was also the last day of preschool for Quinn– for the year.  Sooo, tonight the Littles get to try out the longstanding Heskett tradition Will & Chloe have followed since kindergarten.  They get to stay up as late as they want tonight (only tonight!).  I wonder, how long will they make it?  How much will I regret this tomorrow?  They are very excited.  And, of course, Will and Chloe are still in school, so the Littles might actually get to stay up later than the Bigs!

Meanwhile, I admit, I have a feeling of beleaguered “digging in” myself.  Quinn and Claire are not going to daycamp of any kind, so I’m on duty 24/7.  Chloe will be busy with her own music and running camps, and Will may be working himself (fingers crossed).  So I can’t count on them for much help.  The littles and I are planning a daily Sunday School, as well as lots of time at the Y, and the beach about every day.  I just have to get a schedule/routine going so that we don’t just hang around and drive ourselves nuts.  Oh, I know, that’s not like me at all– to just hang around and go with the flow.  No, not at all, right?  That’s what you were thinking, right?

My head is still spinning from the rounds of parties to attend and treats to bake, teacher gifts to select and wrap, and special cards and letters to write.  Admittedly, my capacity for doing that kind of thing is limited.  I tend to view each one as really important and I let them loom over me like work deadlines or something similarly serious.  I mean, in reality, it wasn’t that big of a deal that I didn’t have time to poke the pretzel “tentacles” into the apricot “octopi” for the under-the-sea themed story and snack day on Tuesday.  We just did it with the kids at snack time.  And it didn’t even take me until midnight to get the teacher gifts wrapped and cards written last night after Will’s birthday party.  I know lots of women who commit to a lot more with their young children’s schools, but I’m just not wired that way.  Or maybe it’s the distraction of everything involved in a household with teenagers and preschoolers (and the doggie, of course).  And that’s okay.  The kids will still turn out okay, I suspect.

I’ve broken a Cuppa rule and let this blog sit overnight… but I’m not going to scrap it and start over.  I’ll just tell you that after the guitar lesson last night, when I wrote most of this, we came home and got the little kids started on their big night.  I think they really liked it!  We had leftover birthday cake, watched a movie, ate some popcorn, watched another movie.  Claire snuggled under a blanket on the floor, and Gus fell asleep on her feet.  Quinn finally went to bed, with a gentle suggestion from me, just before 11.  Claire kept going until about 11:30– again, ending with a gentle prod from mom.  They both slept in my bed– and my dreams were punctuated with small people snoring and heavy rain splashing off the eavespout outside the window.  Perfect first night of summer– going to sleep with no commitments and a rainy day to provide cover for staying home and getting organized!

Happy Day, friends…

Leave a Reply

