A loaf of bread, a jug of wine, and…

… is it “thee” or “thou?”  Dang it, I can never remember.  There’s something about a tree in the verse, so maybe it’s the rhyming “thee,” but then “thou” sounds correct.  So that is from “The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyem,” which I became entranced with at some point in my education.  Somewhere I have a really smelly old edition of the book of verse.  I liked to think I was collecting rare books when I combed used book stores and flea markets in my younger days, but mostly I think I was collecting moldy books.  Subtle difference I didn’t get at the time!

 

Anyway.  Literary rambling aside, I will be having a loaf of bread and a jug of wine tomorrow.  Wish you could join in.  It’s beaujolais nouveau day in France, and since you all know how much I like to pretend I’m still there, I will be observing it.  Luckily I have some friends here who also like to pretend they are in France, so we will delude ourselves together for a few hours tomorrow afternoon!  The wine will taste like Kool-aid, but the food and the company will be good.  Oh, and while I’m cleaning house and making the salad in the morning, I will definitely, definitely have a scrumptious homemade Americano and think of all my cuppa friends.

 

On a practical note, it looks like the trouble I’ve been having with all the blogs has to do with having updated my software and switched my computer.  Apple is not supposed to have these issues!  Hopefully I can get it working by sheer repetition, because I have no idea what else to do besides ditch the archives and start over.  And that, my friends, is not an option I would exercise lightly.  I don’t want to lose our months of exchanges!

 

Sooo… let’s see if exchanges are possible.  Jump on and give a shout out if you’ve ever heard of Omar Khayyem– or if you know the correct spelling of it (because I’m probably butchering it, but I’m too lazy to google).  I betcha Omar was a coffee drinker…

 

 

Leave a Reply

