Moving forward?

My friends, I think I’ve failed you.  Not that anyone is sitting around breathlessly waiting to hear from me, but I really went AWOL this time.  I’m wondering how to move forward here.  I mean, I love the creative, therapeutic process of just putting down thoughts.  And when people jump in and comment, all the better.  I don’t want to bother you with a note everytime I update.  But I’m not keeping up with 2-3 times a week, so I’m sure no one is checking in here anymore…

 

Hmmm.  Guess I’ll just keep typing and see what happens.  Lord knows I need to limber up my fingers.  Saturday is Nov. 1, and that means it’s the beginning of National Novel Writing Month.  I will, like last year, be a participant!  The goal is a 50,000 word manuscript by the end of the month.  That’s 1667 words per day for most people, but since we are leaving town before the end of the month, I need 2000/day.  We’ll see.

 

And now I’ll leave you with an Important Public Service Announcement:

 

Christmas music season has officially opened in the Heskett household.  Whenever Bing and Dean and Perry and Judy arrive at your door in their festive garb, you may let them in without fear of being the first to do so.  (This would be not your actual front door, but some wreath-bedecked door in your imagination or heart or something.)  Now in the interest of full disclosure, Bing and co. don’t usually make their entrance at our house until well into November.  We ease into the season by first listening to Ottmar Leibert (Spanish guitar) and The Chieftains (Irish traditional)—things like that—for a couple weeks.  That way we’re still getting the holiday vibes, but we’re not ready to dropkick Perry Como by Thanksgiving. (Hey… I wonder if the Dropkick Murphys have any Christmas music…)

 

Keep movin’ forward, friends.  Whatever direction forward may be.

Leave a Reply

