Conspicuously Absent

The first thing I noticed when I woke this morning was that I didn’t smell hazelnut coffee brewing.  Disoriented, I opened my eyes and took a moment to realize I was in… my own house.  No coffee would be brewing this morning without a little exertion on my part.  Those of you who have family far away will recognize my feelings.  On the one hand I was so very sad not to be able to walk down the stairs and find my mom and dad waiting on the sun porch with whatever grandkids were already awake.  On the other hand, it was nice to be home and have a whole day ahead with nothing to do but unpack and “move back in” to our house.

We’ve been on the road for 22 days!  They’ve been full of wonderful visits with family and friends– which I’ll write more about some other time and place.  But to my family and dear friends– Mom and Dad; Rusty and Lyn; Paula, Pam and Cindy; Marybeth, Ryan, Caroline & Patrick– thank you for your hospitality.  We’ve been cared-for and coddled, and we loved spending time with you.  Seeing sister Heidi, Kevin, and dear little Jack; Grandma Great Rollings; Grandma and Grandpa Great Kyser and my aunts and uncles and cousins; and, of course, friends like Sandy Sage and Sue Gerig and Jill– well, that was all icing (and sprinkles and cream and nuts and cherries) on the cake!

Now.  Off to make my own coffee.  I wonder if I’ll remember how…  We’re back now, and here to stay, so I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

